OREGON FIRE DISTRICT DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION

GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING THURSDAY, November 4, 2022

3:15-4:15 p.m. | Hood River Inn - Trillium Room

MINUTES

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u> President Curtis Hoopes called the meeting to order at 3:20 p.m. and introduced OFDDA Board and Staff. President Hoopes also introduced OFDDA Past Presidents John Dunn, Fran Harris, Don Thompson, and Mark Kreutzer.

<u>PRESIDENT'S REPORT</u> President Curtis Hoopes reported that the OFDDA had enjoyed a productive year and increased attendance from the previous year. Next year's conference will be held in Seaside, Oregon.

- 20/30/40/50 Year Recognition: Dennis Sealy Evans Valley FD #6—20 years
- District represented by all Five Board Members 2019 Honorees:
 - Netarts Fire District
 - Tangent Fire District
 - Mid-Columbia Fire & Rescue
- District of the Year Award: Polk County Fire District was awarded District of the Year during the lunch hour.
- Innovative Safety Award: Corbett Fire District was awarded the Innovative Safety Award.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

MOTION: Moved by John Dunn, Tangent Fire, and seconded by Joe Morneau, Coburg Fire, to approve the minutes. **Motion passed.**

FIRST CALL FOR NOMINATIONS John Dunn, Immediate Past President, presented the following slate of officers:

- Curtis Hoopes President
- Joe Morneau 1st Vice President
- Jay Cross 2nd Vice President
- Don Thompson, North Bay Fire & Rescue Director Position #3
- Mark Kreutzer, Columbia F&R Director Position #2
- Brenda Spence Director Position #4
- Cheryl Johnson, Illinois Valley Director Position #5
- Jon Peasley, Yamhill FD Director Position #6

LEGISLATIVE UPDATE Genoa Ingram, OFDDA Executive Director, provided an update of the 2022 legislative session.

MEMBER INPUT Eldon Marcum of Hermiston Fire raised the topic of funds for his district.

RECESS President Hoopes recessed the meeting at 4:03 p.m. until 3:15 Friday, November 5.

* * * * *

GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING FRIDAY, November 5, 2022

3:15-4:15 p.m. | Hood River Inn - Trillium Room

MINUTES

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u> President Curtis Hoopes reconvened the meeting at 3:15 p.m.

ELECTIONS Past President John Dunn noted that no additional nominations had been received.

<u>Motion</u>: Moved by Past President John Dunn and seconded by Cheryl Johnson to accept the proposed slate of officers *en bloc*. **Motion passed**.

<u>MEMBER INPUT</u> Director Jay Cross moderated feedback from members regarding the Business Meetings, including recommendations to move the Business meeting to the morning prior to lunch.

BUDGET APPROVAL

<u>Motion</u>: Moved by Brenda Spence, Scio Rural Fire Protection District, and seconded by Fran Harris, Adair Rural Fire Protection District, to accept the proposed budget as presented. **Motion passed**.

INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS Oregon State Fire Marshal Marian Ruiz-Temple administered the Oath of Office to the 2023 Board of Directors.

CLOSING COMMENTS Curtis Hoopes, 2023 President-Elect, provided closing comments.

ADJOURN There was no further business, and the meeting was adjourned 3:33 p.m.