OREGON FIRE DISTRICT DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING THURSDAY, November 7, 2019

3:15–4:15 p.m. | Seaside Convention Center – Necanicum Room

MINUTES

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u> President John Dunn called the meeting to order at 3:17 p.m. and introduced OFDDA Board and Staff. President Dunn also introduced OFDDA Past Presidents Fran Harris, Alan Forster, and Don Trotter.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT President John Dunn provided the President's Report, recapping the September OFDDA Fundraiser which enabled the Board to award additional scholarships. He also discussed a recent agreement with SDAO to provided Board member accreditation.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

MOTION: Moved by Dave Hudson, Hauser Fire District, and seconded by Dave Burnett, Chiloquin Fire, to approve the minutes. **Motion passed.**

FIRST CALL FOR NOMINATIONS Don Thompson, Immediate Past President, presented the following slate of officers:

- John Dunn President
- Curtis Hoopes Vice President
- Jay Cross 2nd Vice President
- Allen Forster, Lebanon Fire District Director Position #4
- Laura Green, Canby Fire District Director Position #5
- Joe Morneau, Coburg Fire Director Position #6

LEGISLATIVE UPDATE Genoa Ingram, OFDDA Executive Director, provided an update of the 2019 legislative session.

MEMBER INPUT There was no member input.

SECOND CALL FOR NOMINATIONS Don Thompson, Immediate Past President, called for nominations.

RECESS President Dunn recessed the meeting at 3:58 p.m. until 3:15 Friday, November 8.

* * * * *

GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING FRIDAY, November 8, 2019

3:15-4:15 p.m. | Seaside Convention Center - Necanicum Room

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER President John Dunn reconvened the meeting at 3:15 p.m.

NOMINATIONS Don Thompson reviewed the nominees for the OFDDA Board as follows:

- John Dunn President
- Curtis Hoopes Vice President
- Jay Cross 2nd Vice President
- Allen Forster, Lebanon Fire District Director Position #4
- Laura Green, Canby Fire District Director Position #5
- Joe Morneau, Coburg Fire Director Position #6

<u>Motion</u>: Moved by Eldon Marcum, Umatilla County Fire District #1, and seconded by Dennis Rogers, Sheridan Fire District, to close nominations and approved the recommended slate *en bloc*. **Motion passed**.

MEMBER INPUT There was no member input.

BUDGET APPROVAL

<u>Motion</u>: Moved by Fran Harris, Adair Rural Fire Protection District, and seconded by Brenda Spence, Scio Rural Fire Protection District, to accept the proposed budget as presented. **Motion passed**.

AWARDS AND RECOGNITION President John Dunn recognized the following individuals:

- a. OFDDA Awards Program (20/30/40/50 Year Recognition)
 - i. Jackie Hickman, Greenacres RFPD 20 Years of Service
 - ii. Joe Morneau, Coburg Fire District 20 Years of Service
 - iii. Leonard Jay Myers, Stayton Fire District 20 Years of Service
 - iv. Mark Schmidlin, Banks Fire District #13 20 Years of Service
 - v. Brenda F. Spence, Scio Rural Fire Protection District- 20 Years of Service
 - vi. Paul VanDeBrift, Yamhill Fire Protection District 20 Years of Service
 - vii. Marilyn Wall, Clackamas Fire District #1 20 Years of Service
 - viii. Ray Porter, Stayton Fire District 30 Years of Service
 - ix. Kevin Van Dyke, Forest Grove RFPD 40 Years of Service
- b. District of the Year: Sweet Home Fire was recognized as District of the Year. The Award will be presented at the December meeting of the Linn County Fire Defense Board.
- c. Innovative Safety Award: Tangent Fire/Volunteer Lt. Brice Walters

INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS Chief Jim Walker, State Fire Marshal, administered the Oath of Office to the Board.

CLOSING COMMENTS John Dunn, 2020 President-Elect, provided closing comments.

ADJOURN There was no further business, and the meeting was adjourned 3:45 p.m.