OREGON FIRE DISTRICT DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING THURSDAY, OCTOBER 26, 2017

Ashland Hills Hotel & Conference Center – Orion Ballroom

<u>Call to Order</u> President Dennis Rogers called the meeting to order at 3:45 p.m.

<u>President's Comments</u> President Thompson introduced the OFDDA Board, staff and Past Presidents.

<u>Bylaw Revision</u> President Dennis Rogers outlined the proposed Bylaw revisions as follows:

ARTICLE V. ELECTIONS, NOMINATIONS AND VOTING

Section A: The election of the Board of Directors shall be held at the annual meeting. Election of Board members shall be by secret, written ballot, unless there is only one nominee for a position, when a voice vote may be taken on that position. The candidate receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected. In the event of two consecutive tie votes for any position, the Board of Directors shall meet immediately and each Director shall vote for one candidate. The tally of these votes shall determine the outcome of the election. To ensure better representation, Past Presidents, once they have completed their term in that office, may not be elected to the Board of Directors. A Past President, however, may be appointed to fill Director Position 1 as provided in Article IV, Section 12.

MOTION: Moved by Dennis Rogers and seconded by Don Trotter, Clackamas Fire District #1 to approve the Bylaws amendment as proposed. **Motion passed**.

<u>Elections</u>: Immediate Past President Dennis Rogers reviewed the proposed slate of officers as proposed by the Nominating Committee as follows:

President: Don Thompson, North Bay Rural Fire Protection District Vice President: John Dunn, Tangent Rural Fire Protection District 2nd Vice President: Eldon Marcum, Umatilla County Fire District Director Position #4: Jamel Mercado, Lebanon Fire District

Director Position #5: Gary Ollerenshaw, Redmond Fire District Director Position #6: Curtis Hoopes, Chiloquin Fire District

First Call for Nominations

Motions from the Floor:

Jim Syring, Clackamas Fire District 1, nominated Gordon Hovie, Tualatin Valley Fire & Rescue

Announcements: President Thompson announced the following:

- Budget Workshop is scheduled for 5:15 p.m. (immediately following this meeting)
- Sponsor Appreciation Event starts at 5:00 p.m.
- Silent Auction ends Saturday at the morning break
- Attendees are reminded to turn in their evaluations

Second Call for Nominations

There were no further nominations.

** Recessed until 3:45 Friday **

OREGON FIRE DISTRICT DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING FRIDAY, OCTOBER 27, 2017

Ashland Hills Hotel & Conference Center – Orion Ballroom

<u>Call to Order</u> President Don Thompson called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m.

Third Call for Nominations

President: No further nominations; nominations for President were closed.

Vice President: No further nominations; nominations for 1st President were closed.

2nd Vice President: No further nominations; nominations for 2nd President were closed. Director Position #4: Gordon Hovie withdrew his nomination. There were no further nominations; nominations for Position #4 were closed.

Director Position #5: No further nominations; nominations for Position #5 were closed. Director Position #6: No further nominations; nominations for Position #6 were closed.

MOTION: Moved by Dennis Rogers and seconded by Director Rick Jackson, Silverton Fire, to approve the proposed slate of officers *en bloc*. **Motion passed**.

Guest Reports The following guest reports were received:

Eriks Gablicks, Director, DPSST, provided a report from the DPSST, including funding approved during the legislative session, federal policies regarding sanctuary cities and the impact on fire service grants. In response to the need for mental health training, a Crisis Response Work Group has been formed. Director Gablicks thanked David Jones for his services on the DPSST Board and welcomed Mark Kreutzer who was recently appointed by the Governor.

Adoption of Budget

1st Vice President John Dunn noted that the budget had been posted on the OFDDA website and a budget workshop had been held the previous evening.

MOTION: Moved by Director Schneider, Scio, and seconded by Rick Jackson, Silverton to adopt the proposed budget as presented. **Motion passed.**

<u>20/30/40 Year Award</u>: President Thompson recognized the following Directors for their years of service:

Richard Mast, Prospect RFPD – 40 years of service Ron Ballenger, Lowell RFPD – 30 years of service Bill Robertson, Jackson Co. Fire District #5 – 20 years of service Clifford Fortune, Hoodland Fire District #74 – 20 years of service Gloria Storey, Klamath Co. Fire District #1 – 20 years of service Carl Holland, Charleston Rural Fire District – 20 years of service John "Jack" Brown, Prospect RFPD – 20 years of service

<u>Installation of Officers</u> – Chief Jim Walker, State Fire Marshal, performed the installation ceremony for the 2017 Board of Directors.

Adjourn

Adjourn There was no further business and the meeting was adjourned at 4:23 p.m.