## OREGON FIRE DISTRICT DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 5, 2015

### Seaside Conventions Center – Necanicum

<u>Call to Order</u> President Mark Kreutzer called the meeting to order at 4:46 p.m.

**President's Comments** President Kreutzer introduced the OFDDA Board of Directors, Past Presidents, staff, and recognized the Conference Committee. He then invited Chief Greg Marlar to offer comments regarding the recent mass shooting at Umpqua Community College and how it impacted Douglas Fire District #2.

**<u>Board Nominations</u>** Immediate Past President Don Trotter reviewed the proposed slate of officers as proposed by the Nominating Committee as follows:

President: Dennis Rogers, Sheridan Fire District

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President: Don Thompson, North Bay Rural Fire Protection District 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President: Eldon Marcum, Stanfield Rural Fire Protection District

Director Position #3: Spike Piersol, Hermiston Fire

Director Position #4: John Dunn, Tangent Fire

Director Position #5: Gary Ollerenshaw, Redmond Fire & Rescue Director Position #6: Carol Smith, North Lincoln Fire & Rescue

<u>First Call for Nominations</u> Immediate Past President Don Trotter called for nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominations.

**Bylaw Revision** Immediate Past President Don Trotter outlined the proposed Bylaw revisions to Article V, Subsection B, Subsection (4) relating to Nominations, as follows:

4. Nominees for President, and First Vice President and Second Vice President shall have served as an elected member of the Board of Directors for a minimum of two (2) years.

Nominees for Second Vice President shall have served as an elected member of the Board of Directors for a minimum of one (1) year.

**MOTION**: Moved by Darrell King, Charleston Fire District, and seconded by Spike Piersol, Hermiston Fire, to approve the Bylaws amendment as proposed. **Motion passed**.

<u>20/30/40 Year Awards</u> The following Directors were recognized for their years of service:

Honoree	District	Years of Service
James K. Phillips	Yamhill Fire Protection District	30
Bob Nickelsen	West Side RFPD	35

<u>District of the Year</u> Tangent Rural Fire Protection District was presented with the 2015 District of the Year Award.

**Second Call for Nominations** Immediate Past President Don Trotter called for nominations from the Floor. There were no additional nominations.

<u>MOTION</u>: Moved by Darrell King, Charleston Fire District, and seconded by Rick Jackson, Silverton Fire District to close nominations. **Motion passed**.

<u>Announcements</u> Immediate Past President Don Trotter announced that Position #2 would be filled in January and Board applications may be picked up at the registration desk or online. President Kreutzer announced that there would be a budget meeting immediately following today's Business Session.

Recess There was no further business and the meeting was recessed until 3:45 p.m., Friday, November 6.

# OREGON FIRE DISTRICT DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION GENERAL BUSINESS MEETING FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 6, 2015

### Seaside Conventions Center – Necanicum

<u>Call to Order</u> President Mark Kreutzer called the meeting to order at 3:45 p.m. and announced that the 2016 Conference would be held October 27 – 29. He encouraged Directors to mark their calendars and plan to attend.

<u>Elections</u> Immediate Past President Don Trotter noted that no additional nominations had been received and asked that, in accordance with Article V, Section A of the OFDDA Bylaws, the body approve the slate of candidates submitted by the Nominating Committee *en block* by voice vote. The slate of candidates was **approved** *en block* by voice vote.

**<u>Board Attendance Recognition</u>** President Kreutzer recognized the following Boards for having all five Directors in attendance at Conference:

Sheridan Fire District
Stayton Fire District
Lowell Rural Fire Protection District
Crescent Fire District
Hermiston Fire & Emergency Services
Hoodland Fire District #1
Silverton Fire

<u>Dues Structure</u> Director Don Trotter explained the proposed revised dues structure:

<b>Previous Dues Structure</b>		<b>New Dues Structure-</b>	<b>New Dues Structure- Effective 2016</b>	
Assessed Value	Annual	Assessed Value	Annual	
(Millions)	Dues	(Millions)	Dues	
\$ 0 - 15	\$ 62.50	\$ 0 - 15	\$ 62.50	
15 - 25	125.00	15 - 25	125.00	
25 - 50	187.50	25 - 50	187.50	
50 - 75	250.00	50 - 75	250.00	
75 - 100	312.50	75 - 100	312.50	
100 - 125	375.00	100 - 125	375.00	
125 - 150	437.50	125 - 150	437.50	
150 - 200	500.00	150 - 200	500.00	
200 - 250	625.00	200 - 250	625.00	
250 - 300	750.00	250 - 300	750.00	
300 - 600	1,000.00	300 - 600	1,000.00	
600 - 1000	1,250.00	600 - 1000	1,250.00	
over 1000	1,500.00	1000 - 2500	1,500.00	
		2500 - 5000	1,750.00	
		over 5000	2,000.00	

<u>MOTION</u>: Moved by Kevin Van Dyke, Forest Grove Fire District, and seconded by Bob Reeves, Hoodland Fire, to approve the proposed dues structure as submitted. <u>Motion passed</u>.

**<u>Budget</u>** Director Don Thompson reviewed the 2016 proposed budget noting reductions in LOSAP Administration Fees and Conference registrations.

<u>MOTION</u>: Moved by Rick Jackson, Silverton Fire District, and seconded by Spike Piersol, Hermiston Fire, to approve the proposed budget as presented. <u>Motion passed</u>.

#### **Installation of Officers**:

Chief Jim Walker, State Fire Marshal, installed the 2016 Board of Directors.

**Closing Comments**: President-Elect Dennis Rogers addressed the attendees.

Adjourn There was no further business and the meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.